Natural Homemade Bug Spray…

That works!

Rachel's iPhone 132I bought way too many essential oils this past winter, partially spurred by the lip balm making projects and partially because I find it so hard to resist those magical looking vials.

So, in my quest to save money, live cleanly and make stuff everyday, I decided to make our own herbal bug spray.  After reading about 75 recipes this is what I came up with… and it has totally worked so far; even when camping!

This is for a 4 oz bottle that I picked up from our local coop.

1 Tablespoon Witch Hazel

15 drops citronella

10 drops cedar

10 drops lemongrass

5 drops lemon eucalyptus

5 rosemary

10 rose geranium (I love the smell)

3 1/2 oz of boiled or distilled water

The recipe is based mostly on studies about efficacy of various oils and what bugs we want to repel (mosquitoes- citronella, cedar, lemon eucalyptus, rose geranium and some report rosemary does too and ticks – lemongrass and eucalyptus) but it also is based on the fact that I have really sensitive skin and didn’t want anything that could sting (like peppermint or a vodka base).  And, I like things to smell good too.

I might have had to buy a few of these oils… but at least I didn’t buy anymore bug bands or Herbal Armor this year 🙂

(By the way, that’s 4 out of 5 days for a post.  Trying my best!)

 

Leave a Reply

